20/21 Premier League Squad Announced

Arsenal have released their Premier League squad for the 2020/21 season. The squad can be changed once again after the closure of the January transfer window.

Under the current Premier League rulings, clubs are only allowed to register squads that meet the following criteria:

  • Maximum of 25 senior players
  • Maximum of 17 non-homegrown senior players
  • Unlimited U21 players.

In order to achieve homegrown status, players must have been registered with a club that is affiliated with the English or Welsh FA for a minimum of three years prior to turning 21. Nationality does not apply in this regard.

Arsenal’s squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers (3)
1.) Bernd Leno (NHG)
13.) Rúnar Alex Rúnarsson (NHG)
33.) Matthew Macey (HG)

Defenders (10)
2.) Héctor Bellerín (HG)
3.) Kieran Tierney (NHG)
6.) Gabriel Magalhães (NHG)
16.) Robert Holding (HG)
17.) Cédric Soares (NHG)
20.) Shkodran Mustafi (NHG)
21.) Calum Chambers (HG)
22.) Pablo Marí (NHG)
23.) David Luiz (NHG)
31.) Sead Kolašinac (NHG)

Midfielders (5)
8.) Daniel Ceballos (NHG)
15.) Ainsley Maitland-Niles (HG)
18.) Thomas Partey (NHG)
25.) Mohamed Elneny (NHG)
34.) Granit Xhaka (NHG)

Forwards (4)
9.) Alexandre Lacazette (NHG)
12.) Willian (NHG)
14.) Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (NHG)
19.) Nicolas Pépé (NHG)

The selection of players to be included in the squad features the notable absences of Mesut Özil and Sokratis Papastathopoulos, both of whom were left out of Arsenal’s UEFA Europa League squad as well.

Despite his willingness to return, Mesut Özil finds himself excluded from the side once again.

While the exact reason for both player’s omission from the Premier League squad is currently unknown, it is thought that Özil’s omission is owing to appearance and performance-related bonuses owed to the player in his contract, following Özil’s reluctance to join his teammates in a 12.5% during lockdown. As for Sokratis, it has long been evident that Mikel Arteta is not a big fan of the Greek defender’s overall playstyle and is likely a fallout of Arsenal’s failure to move the defender on in the summer window.

Despite their exile from the squad, both Özil and Sokratis could be included in the squad when Arsenal re-submit their Premier League squad in January.

Though Arsenal are under their maximum of 25 senior squad players, they are the capacity of their 17 non-homegrown senior players.

Youngsters Eddie Nketiah, Joe Willock, Bukayo Saka, Gabriel Martinelli, William Saliba and Reiss Nelson have not been listed in the club’s Premier League squad, however, they have been listed in Arsenal’s U21 list, which allows them to appear in the competition.

Elsewhere, Arsenal’s summer signings of Willian, Gabriel Magalhães, Dani Ceballos, Rúnar Alex Rúnarsson and Thomas Partey have all been included in the squad.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: